Lesson Learned?

March 24, 2012 § 1 Comment

The universe has aligned itself, finally. Yesterday I had a good run.

As I have off on Fridays, I was able to choose any time during the day as my running time. So around 2 pm, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to take my distance up a notch. A small notch. I put on some clean running clothes and grabbed my phone. Using Endomondo really is the easiest way for me to run farther. If I run my regular loop, I tend to be done once I’ve finished the loop.

I turned right when I reached the corner, and began running up the first alley. I know that you are wondering, Why are you still running through alleys after you have been nearly mauled by alley dogs during at least two runs? It is just so much easier to go up and down alleys and streets. I mean, I can run longer distances without feeling like I have actually gone that far. Maybe I’m crazy.

I was feeling good. After the first kilometer, I noticed my pace was slower than usual. I didn’t mind though, because I was more concerned with running farther.

I turned down another alley. This one was paved.

It was basically a small street, and I stopped to snap a picture of this sweet hound who was hanging around the alley.

So far during my run, I hadn’t seen any scary dogs. Most of the canines I encountered were small terriers and chihuahuas, all behind fences. I was still smiling over the hound when I noticed two big wolves dogs in the yard ahead. I saw that the chain-link gate was not completely closed, but I doubted either dog could get through. Turns out, they didn’t need to. The larger one just hopped right over. “No, no,” I said in an unfortunately whiny voice.

He was barking, jumping up and down, following me. I could feel his hot nose on my left elbow. A speeding train of thoughts pumped through my head. Don’t stop. Dogs smell fear. Get it together. Don’t let him bite you. Unless it’s on your left arm. Don’t be afraid. Maybe he will sense my attitude change. But that might anger him. The left arm is the best place for him to bite. Not the upper arm though. Did I just pee myself?

Then he turned around. I don’t know if he went back to his yard. I did not turn around. I also did not run down anymore alleys. Instead, I had to do some block circling and retracing of steps.

I jogged 2.5 miles. I had initially thought I could maybe do three, but it felt hotter than it actually was, and I miss running with music. I finally ordered another MP3 player yesterday. I can’t take it anymore.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Lesson Learned?

  • Music helps everything!

    I remember when we ran in highschool for cross country our coach banned us from runnning with music for fear we would not be able to run with out it! He knew what he was talking about it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lesson Learned? at I am not Unique.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

